Nail Polish Review: Julep’s Alaina and Clio

I received Alaina in my July Maven box and Clio in my Galaxy Supernova box.

Julep describes Alaina as a driftwood taupe cream.  I think that this is the first color description from Julep that I don’t agree with.  There are enough purple undertones in Alaina that I wouldn’t call it taupe – its more of a lilac/grey color. Julep’s website also makes the color look a little lighter than it is in real life.

 

Julep's Alaina

I think that this is a great neutral color, especially as the transition to fall begins!

Just for fun, I decided to throw on an accent nail using Clio.

Julep's Alaina and Clio

This is 3 coats of Clio (silver, pink, and lavender multi-dimensional glitter).  I really like that Julep has mixed large and small pieces of glitter in all 3 of the colors – it pairs really nicely with Alaina and I can see this becoming a fall-back combination when I don’t know what else to do.

Alaina retails for $14.00 (or $11.20 if you are a Maven).
Clio is not available on it’s own, but can be purchased through 3 different sets.

Interested in becoming a Julep Maven? Please be kind and use my referral link!

Leave a Reply

